[TO BE INTRODUCED IN THE YOUTH PARLIAMENT OF PAKISTAN]

Α

Bill

Further to amend the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan.

WHEREAS it is expedient further to amend the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of

Pakistan for the purposes hereinafter appearing:

It is hereby enacted as follows:

1. Short title and commencement:-

(1) This Act may be called the Constitution (Amendment) Act, 2012.

(2) It shall come into force at once.

2. Amendment in Article 247 clause (3) of the Constitution. In the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, for Article 247 clause (3), the following shall be substituted.

"Act of [Majlis-e-Shoora (parliament)] shall apply to any Federally Administered Tribal Area or to any part thereof and also apply to a Provincial Administered Tribal Area, or to any part thereof. Act of Provincial Assemblies of Balochistan and Kheyber Pakhtunkha shall apply to a provincially Administered Tribal Area, or to any part thereof"

STATEMENT OF OBJECT AND REASONS

The Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan makes the Parliament the supreme institution of Pakistan, but the highest institution does not enjoy supremacy throughout the country.

The laws enacted in the supreme institution, which has the real mandate from the people of Pakistan, do not apply in the Federally Administered Tribal Area and Provincially Administered Tribal Area, even though there are twenty parliamentarians from the Federally Administered Tribal Area, who can make laws for the other parts of the country, but cannot formulate laws for their constituencies from which they are elected.

It means, the parliamentarians cannot also raise the issues related to FATA in the parliament because that administrative system of FATA deals with the powers of the president. A question arises here that then why twenty parliamentarians from FATA are elected.

The parliament shall be supreme for the entire country.

2. The bill seeks to achieve the aforementioned objective.

Sd/ Siraj Memon (YP57-Sindh 09) Aamir Abbas Turi (YP08-FATA01 Anum Mohsin (YP22- Punjab02) Salman Khan Shinwari (YP18-KPK05) Zafar Siddique (YP39-Punjab19) Touseef Ahmed Abbasi (YP02-AJK02) Seep Akhter Channer (YP55-Sindh07) Yusraa Farooq (YP13-ICT03)

Members of the youth parliament of Pakistan